Skip to content

Advisory Board

The SPHR Advisory Board provides independent strategic advice to the School’s Executive Group on the development of its activities, direction and priorities. The Board provides input in the broader context of national and international strategic opportunities, practice and policy.

The Board includes professionals drawn from organisations and professional bodies with responsibility for developing and implementing public health measures, senior academic researchers in public health from outside England, and two lay expert members who contribute a public perspective.

Membership of the Board for 2022–2027 is as follows:

Dr Ruth Hussey CB OBE DL (Chair of the Advisory Board)

Baljit Banga, Executive Director at Imkaan

Professor Sara Blackmore, Director of Public Health for South Gloucestershire – representative of the Association of Directors of Public Health

Dr Rachel Clark, Head of Evidence and Evaluation, OHID

Professor Nancy Edwards, RN, PhD, FCAHS

Professor Brian Ferguson, Director of the NIHR Public Health Research (PHR) Programme and Chair of the PHR Prioritisation Committee

Professor Sharon Friel, Director of the Menzies Centre for Health Governance at the School of Regulation and Global Governance (RegNet), Australian National University

Dr Andrew Furber OBE, Regional Director for Public Health in the North West, OHID

Professor Hilary Graham CBE FBA, Professor of Health Sciences, University of York

John Hume, Chief Executive of People’s Health Trust

Professor Frank Kee, Director of the UKCRC Centre of Excellence for Public Health Research (Northern Ireland), Queens University Belfast

Dr Louise Marshall, Senior Public Health Fellow, The Health Foundation

Professor Emma McIntosh, Deputy Director of Health Economics and Health Technology Assessment (HEHTA), Institute of Health and Wellbeing, University of Glasgow

Professor Jim McManus, President of the Association of Directors of Public Health and Director of Public Health for Hertfordshire County Council

Professor Laurence Moore, Director of the MRC/CSO Social & Public Health Sciences Unit, University of Glasgow

Professor Kate Pickett, Deputy Director of the Centre for Future Health and Associate Director of the Leverhulme Centre for Anthropocene Biodiversity, University of York

David Pye, Head of Research & Information, Local Government Association

Professor Derek Ward, Director of Public Health for Lincolnshire and lead of ADPH Data, Intelligence & Research Policy Advisory Group

Two representatives from the SPHR Public Partners Network

Clare Jowett

Geoffrey Gleadhill

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue to use this site we will assume that you are happy with it.

OK Privacy Policy